top of page
  • Writer's pictureHeather Bair

"'Salem's Lot" by Stephen King


"We must go through bitter waters before we reach the sweet." ~Van Helsing to Arthur Holmwood in "Dracula" by Bram Stoker (1897).


When I was 16 years old, I attempted to read a Stephen King book. The name of it escapes me, but parts of "'Salem's Lot" were vaguely familiar in the beginning. There's a good chance it was this very book. But I had such disgust for King's novels and horror that I threw it to the side, never to be opened again, and swearing I would never read any of King's novels. Four books later, it's come to my attention I am a liar.


"'Salem's Lot" is not what I thought it would be. When I first heard the title, I was sure that it would be about witches. After talking about it in passing with a friend, I came to find that it was about the opposite end of the spectrum; vampires. And believe me, I was not expecting a new Dracula for the new century. First published in 1975, "'Salem's Lot" holds true to this day.


Ben Mears is a struggling writer looking to work on a new novel. The only problem is thoughts of his childhood have slowly been creeping into his mind and coming out into his book. The best place to write the book then? Where else but his childhood hometown of Jerusalem's Lot. Except 'Salem's Lot, as it's called by the locals, isn't quite how Ben remembers it. A newcomer has moved into town and wants to buy the Marsten House, the town's famous haunted house where a man committed suicide years earlier after killing his wife (Amityville Horror, anyone?)


Ben, teaming up with Susie, Father Callahan, Mark, Jimmy and Matt, decide to tackle the evil in their small town once and for all when loved ones go missing, are buried, then turn up at their bedroom windows...the very Undead Bram Stoker first introduced us to. However, things don't go as planned. And Ben learns the meaning of true, unbridled, raw fear.


This book is FILLED with hints and references to "IT" by Stephen King, including Bill's phrase to help him with his stutter, a memory of a little boy being afraid of a white-faced clown and more. If I didn't know better, I'd say King's books are all connected, but not in the way most think.


If you want a modern-day vampire story without all the glittery nonsense as is with modern-day vampire stories, "'Salem's Lot" will quench your thirst...or leave you wanting more than just ink to survive on.


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page